TONO-Award for Motorpsycho´s Child of The Future

Home Forums General TONO-Award for Motorpsycho´s Child of The Future

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
  • #508

    Google translation:

    – Experimental and groundbreaking

    Bent Sæther and Hans Magnus Ryan MP was Saturday evening awarded Tono Edward award before they completed this year’s Øya Festival.

    – Their music makes use of rock’s energy and format, but it adds an experimental and ground-breaking term, said paying the price Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Raktje front of an expected full-island audience.

    50 000 NOK

    Bent Sæther and Hans Magnus Ryan won the prize in the class of popular music for the album “Child of the Future.” Edward Prize consists of Bruno Oldanis unique trophy, a diploma and 50,000 kroner. A bit embarrassed were the two when the price was handed out on stage right before the concert that they probably were pretty nervous in the first place.

    – I’ll buy potato chips and soda for the money, “said a happy Hans Magnus Ryan from the stage.

    Read jury in its entirety:

    On the basis of punk and grunge has creators challenged the framework for progressive rock. Their music makes use of rock’s energy and format, but it adds an experimental and ground-breaking expression.

    The text underscores the music in a masterly manner. They use rock’s great characters, both observation and mysteriously, to create images and associations that elaborate musical complexity and diversity.

    Through a career of more than 20 years, creators have developed a clear and original signature on his compositions. For their work they have achieved wide recognition, both in Norway and internationally.

    The authors have always worked with a focus on album format. The jury therefore find it appropriate to allocate the cost of the entire album and not a single plant. The panel thinks that the album Child of the Future is very representative of the original men’s careers.

    This year’s jury consisted of Rolf Wallin, Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje, Tore Hansen, Dag Krogvold, Ingrid Kindem and Synne Skouen (jury chair).


      Strange choice of album, I thought. I’d go for Heavy Metal Fruit if we’re focusing on the newer releases.


        Not that strange when you consider the rules:

        In short, this year’s award is for works first released or performed during 2009.

        Also, TONO has attached a “one time only”-clause to the award, so there’ll be no further glory next year. ;)


          Yeah, I also thought it weird to see that CotF got the award. But is it ever so well-deserved that they’re finally getting some credit for 20 years++ of hard work and creativity!

          Here’s hoping that the 50k goes to recording a new album this autumn before the obligatory autumn tour!


            Yeah, a new album would be a treat. In fact, I’d be kinda surprised if they didn’t already have a bunch of songs lined up. :P


              so, a week after the last release, ok a re-release, you’re yelling for another…;-)

              go motorpsycho!


                Heh, not really yelling, rather: confident that new material is always on the way. :P

                I mean, HMF came out in January, and was recorded some time last fall, along with the single material. Given their history it’s hardly unlikely to assume that they’ve got some new stuff in the pipeline by now, is it? :D


                Haha, I met one of their crew members at Garage in Oslo. When I asked him, “are they working on something new at the moment”, he kind of just looked at me as if I was really, really stupid. Then hed did reply with sarcasm, “what do you think?”. Ohh, the joy of being a Motorpsychofan with some much new material all the time!


                  Yeah, as a psychonaut I’m getting too spoiled. So I just take it for granted that they’re working on new material continously :mrgreen:

                Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
                • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

                …hanging on to the trip you're on since 1994