shakti

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 posts - 91 through 105 (of 162 total)
  • Author
  • in reply to: What song is better on record than live? #34689
    shakti
    Participant

Yes, yes, yes! I have been begging for a return of the Radiator Freak for 20 years. I got to hear it in 1998 and it was great, even if it was difficult to reproduce live. Lots of audience noise during the quiet bits. But a quartet version would be cool.

in reply to: Motorpsycho live 2019 #33866
      shakti
      Participant

Anyone know what the venue in Genova is like? Would that be a good destination for a single gig (don't think we can squeeze in more than one).

in reply to: What song is better on record than live? #34686
        shakti
        Participant

Interesting to see a lot of people agree with me that Manmower is better without the jamming. I think they have done some beautiful live versions, particularly the very low key '98 ones. But I am not a fan of the drawn-out noodley ones they have done lately.

Bartok has also been singled out. It is so immensely powerful in its studio Version, so even if I the one they did in Drammen recently was very good, they don't seem to nail that Sabbath-y heavy swing live.

Plan #1 has always been killer live, even if it usually stays very true to the formula. I think the power of that one is increased live.

Interestingly, while STG is one of their best live songs overall (the über-skronky '98 versions are off the chart great!), the impact of the main riff when it appears after the intro is never as great as on record. Probably to do with dynamics and how the PA and amps just can't deliver the punch in the same way in a live setting.

The same problem is apparent with The Golden Core. It can be a transporting experience live, but usually there is annyoing audience interference, and a lack of additional oomph and punch for the final cathartic crescendo.

in reply to: Motorpsycho live 2019 #33858
          shakti
          Participant